JN Boards: Not Able To Save Petpage - JN Boards

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Not Able To Save Petpage tis confusing....

#1 User is offline   Link 

  • Sir Link the Fab - Captain of the Apolan Ship
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staffers
  • Posts: 3,894
  • Joined: 16-March 08
  • jnAccount : link
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hiding in Rosie's sock drawer

Posted 19 May 2010 - 06:11 PM

I am unable to save my petpage. Yesterday I had the same stuff coding wise, but today I am unable to save.

here's my code

<center><br>
<b>Well hello there. You proabaly don't see much right now do ya? Well Im not that great of a coder BUT I love to design stuff! I'm currently designing banners for AC V. Please go ahead and take them but remember GIVE ME CREDIT....it's all ready in the code :P. More shall come soon, but in the mean time ENJOY!<br>
**EDIT** I again seem to have some coding issues, but I hope this one makes it in!</b><p> 


<b>Altador</b><br>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i46.tinypic.com/nbqlhs.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br>
<textarea>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i46.tinypic.com/nbqlhs.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br></textarea>

<b>Moltara</b><br>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i50.tinypic.com/23rn8lh.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br>
<textarea>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i50.tinypic.com/23rn8lh.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br></textarea>

<b>Maraqua</b><br>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i49.tinypic.com/686ihf.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br>
<textarea>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i49.tinypic.com/686ihf.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br></textarea>

<b>Roo Island</b><br>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i45.tinypic.com/vby36.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br>
<textarea>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i45.tinypic.com/vby36.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br></textarea>
</center>


and what is weird is that at the bottom of my editing page there were 2 of banners, just sitting there right by the preview button .--.

HELP!

#2 User is offline   elleinaD 

  • JN Forum Stalker
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Active Members
  • Posts: 91
  • Joined: 20-April 10
  • Neopets: fyora_fyora__33
  • jnAccount : scribbledclef
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:The realms of my imagination

Posted 20 May 2010 - 12:44 AM

You have not ended textarea tags.

Try ending them.

#3 User is offline   Illy 

  • What is a week end?
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staffers
  • Posts: 3,619
  • Joined: 21-January 06
  • jnAccount : illusioniste
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Studio 1^2 2^1 3^3

Posted 20 May 2010 - 01:30 AM

Don't forget that with petpages, you have to use:
<text_area>
Your text here.
</text_area>


If you try to use <textarea>, it'll save, but then it'll filter out all your closing textarea tags.

#4 User is offline   SciFi 

  • .
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staffers
  • Posts: 2,295
  • Joined: 28-November 07
  • jnAccount : SciFi
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 20 May 2010 - 06:14 AM

View PostIlly, on 20 May 2010 - 01:30 AM, said:

Don't forget that with petpages, you have to use:
<text_area>
Your text here.
</text_area>


If you try to use <textarea>, it'll save, but then it'll filter out all your closing textarea tags.


Or more to the point, it will close the edit box textarea and the rest of the stuff starts appearing on the edit page. A rather common mistake that TNT could relatively easily avoid but have never done so.

#5 User is offline   Link 

  • Sir Link the Fab - Captain of the Apolan Ship
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staffers
  • Posts: 3,894
  • Joined: 16-March 08
  • jnAccount : link
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hiding in Rosie's sock drawer

Posted 20 May 2010 - 02:14 PM

It happend again....is there some way to prevent it? I'm doing what you are telling me :/

#6 User is offline   Illy 

  • What is a week end?
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staffers
  • Posts: 3,619
  • Joined: 21-January 06
  • jnAccount : illusioniste
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Studio 1^2 2^1 3^3

Posted 20 May 2010 - 02:38 PM

I used this code to test and it worked just fine. If you have other code that you didn't post then it might be causing conflicts. In any case, this stuff works:

<center>
<p><b>Well hello there. You probably don't see much right now do ya? Well I'm not that great of a coder BUT I love to design stuff! I'm currently designing banners for AC V. Please go ahead and take them but remember GIVE ME CREDIT....it's all ready in the code :P. More shall come soon, but in the mean time ENJOY!
<br><br>
**EDIT** I again seem to have some coding issues, but I hope this one makes it in!</b><p> 


<b>Altador</b><br>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i46.tinypic.com/nbqlhs.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br>
<text_area>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i46.tinypic.com/nbqlhs.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a>
</text_area>

<b>Moltara</b><br>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i50.tinypic.com/23rn8lh.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br>
<text_area>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i50.tinypic.com/23rn8lh.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a>
</text_area>

<b>Maraqua</b><br>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i49.tinypic.com/686ihf.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br>
<text_area>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i49.tinypic.com/686ihf.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a>
</text_area>

<b>Roo Island</b><br>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i45.tinypic.com/vby36.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a><br>
<text_area>
<a href="http://www.neopets.com/~Prince_Cielo">
<img src="http://i45.tinypic.com/vby36.jpg" alt="I got my banner from superbaseball9" border="0"></a>
</text_area>
</center>


#7 User is offline   Link 

  • Sir Link the Fab - Captain of the Apolan Ship
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Retired Staffers
  • Posts: 3,894
  • Joined: 16-March 08
  • jnAccount : link
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:hiding in Rosie's sock drawer

Posted 20 May 2010 - 02:43 PM

oh there we go :)
thank you everyone :D

#8 User is offline   matchu 

  • JN Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Active Members
  • Posts: 153
  • Joined: 30-December 06
  • Neopets: matchu1993
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 May 2010 - 03:31 AM

(Is there some particular reason they can't just escape the HTML when printing it inside the editing zone textarea? That's how the rest of the world does it xD)

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users