JN Boards: Icons In Folders Not Showing Up - JN Boards

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Icons In Folders Not Showing Up

#1 User is offline   Clockworthy 

  • Winter is Coming
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Elite Members
  • Posts: 6,989
  • Joined: 28-January 06
  • Neopets: the_academy_awards
  • jnAccount : the_academy_awards
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Motorcity. Blythe Hollow. The Dreamhouse.

Posted 15 August 2011 - 04:37 AM

As you can see in the attachment, for some reason, all of my images are showing up as the default stock picture. They are not that at all, as I'm sure you know. I couldn't really specify my question without going into detail, so Google was a bit of a loss.

How did this happen, and how can I fix it?

Attached File(s)

  • Attached File  Huh..PNG (187.35K)
    Number of downloads: 22


#2 User is offline   Cornflakes 

  • JN Forum Stalker
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Active Members
  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 11-July 11
  • Neopets: mrscornflakes
  • jnAccount : Cornflakes
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Tennessee

Posted 15 August 2011 - 05:28 AM

1. Reboot?

2. You went into Views -> and selected Large or Medium or Small Icons?

3. Tools -> Folder Options ... make sure Show Preview and Filters is selected.

#3 User is offline   Chev 

  • Your average nerd… from space!™
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Elite Members
  • Posts: 787
  • Joined: 22-February 11
  • Neopets: chevrolette__xx
  • jnAccount : Chev
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your attic

Posted 15 August 2011 - 05:47 AM

Change the icon size; that's worked for me several times. *pokes Cornflakes' post*

#4 User is offline   User221 

  • I post too much
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Elite Members
  • Posts: 1,169
  • Joined: 29-April 10

Posted 15 August 2011 - 09:19 AM

The only thing I can think of is to just...wait. If the size was changed or the cache removed it will take a long, long time for it to rebuild the icon database. Vista/7's bar on top is a good indicator of this. If it is solid white then it is something else.

#5 User is offline   Yoshi 

  • Yoshi Fanatic
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Elite Members
  • Posts: 3,007
  • Joined: 19-June 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States

Posted 15 August 2011 - 09:21 AM

Do what is said above but try this too.

Reset your icon cache.

Go to this path

C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local

Username = your username, be sure to change it

Once you go there, you will see a folder named IconCache.db. delete it then restart your computer. (It automatically makes a new db file to replace via dllcache) what this does it reset your icon cache. (At first after restart it might take a bit for icons to show up while it gets cached)
----------
If that does not work, then go and make sure Display icon on thumbnails is checked.

If that does not work then sorry!

#6 User is offline   Clockworthy 

  • Winter is Coming
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Elite Members
  • Posts: 6,989
  • Joined: 28-January 06
  • Neopets: the_academy_awards
  • jnAccount : the_academy_awards
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Motorcity. Blythe Hollow. The Dreamhouse.

Posted 15 August 2011 - 11:35 AM

I had checked "Always show Icons, never Thumbnails" x_x probably when I was trying to speed my computer up. Thanks everybody!

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users